NISA Announces 2022 Division Alignment and Playoff Structure

5 teams each in the East and West, top 3 teams in each division make playoffs
Published Feb 16, 2022

February 16, 2022 (Boyds, MD) - The National Independent Soccer Association (NISA) today solidified the division alignment and playoff format for the 2022 season. The 10 clubs will play an unbalanced schedule over East and West divisions and the playoffs will seed the top three clubs from each into a division-agnostic bracket based on points. The two clubs at the top of each division earn a first-round bye, second-place clubs earn seed Nos. 3 and 4, and the third-place clubs earn seeds Nos. 5 and 6.

“This format balances the regular season having meaning throughout the year and giving an advantage for a higher finishing position,” says Maryland Bobcats FC Vice President Evan Raimist. “This format rewards regular season performance with a potential bye and home field playoff game, and we'll be fighing for that top spot in the East.”

There will NOT be division championship matches. The divisions are:


AC Syracuse Pulse
Chattanooga FC
Flower City Union
Maryland Bobcats FC
Michigan Stars FC


ALBION San Diego
Bay Cities FC
California United Strikers FC
Los Angeles Force
Valley United FC

The 2022 season runs through October 15. The playoffs start October 22 with the semi-finals on October 29 and a final on November 5. Full 2022 details can be found at Match broadcast and streaming programming will be forthcoming.